AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY

REGULAR SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La Monday, February 12, 2024

The Police Jury of the Parish of Avoyelles Parish, State of Louisiana, met for a Regular Meeting at its meeting place, the Police Jury Room of the Parish Courthouse, 312 North Main Street

There were present: Mark Borrel, Jacob Coco, Darrell Wiley, Clyde Benson, McKinley Keller, Travis

Franks, Allen Thomas, Sam Pearce, Earnest Anderson, Jenny Falls, Rhett Desselle- Pan American Engineers, Jospeh Frank- Director of Homeland Security, Laura Gaspard-Assistant Secretary/Treasurer, Ronald Coco, Adam Bordelon, Twyla Lemoine, Francis Keller, Maria Trichell, Theresa Thevenot, Librarian-Nealie Hale, Todd Laborde, Julie Laborde, Artha Hale, Penny Hale, Johnny Rogers, Candie Batiste, Donald Laborde, Janet Ponthieux, Noah Joffrion, and

Perry Scioneaux

Absent: Legal Counsel

The meeting opened with the prayer by President Wiley, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Roll call by Secretary-Treasurer.

On motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Sam Pearce to adopt the minutes of the Police Jury Meeting held on January 8, 2024. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Allen Thomas to adopt the Minutes of the Tourist Commission Meeting. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Jacob Coco to accept the Library Meeting Minutes. On vote, motion carried.

On motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by Sam Pearce authorizing the Secretary/Treasurer to draft and sign a letter to the office of Alcohol & Tobacco approving Francis Keller to sell alcohol of low and high content at an upcoming Trial Ride March 8-March 9, 2024. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by Jacob Coco to adopt a Resolution that the Avoyelles Parish Police Jury vigorously supports legislation granting concurrent authority in Avoyelles Parish to the Justice of the Peace Courts and Constables over nuisance violation and property standards adopted pursuant to local ordinances. On vote, the motion carried. Juror Pearce voiced concerns regarding private property.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by Mark Borrel, to adopt the Financial Report presented by the Secretary/Treasurer during Committee Meetings. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Allen Thomas to adopt a Resolution designating the Acadiana Planning Commission as the office of the Acadiana Watershed District business operation and fiscal agent as stated in Louisiana Act 323, Avoyelles Parish becoming a full participant and member of the Acadiana Watershed District. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Clyde Benson, to adopt a Resolution authorizing HUB Internation to administer Health/Life Insurance to employees. On vote, the motion carried.

AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY

REGULAR SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La Monday, February 12, 2024

On motion by McKinley Keller, seconded by Clyde Benson, to adopt a Resolution authorizing the President to sign Cooperative Endeavor Agreement to continue financial support to the Office of Veterans Affairs, \$24,244.00 annually. On vote the motion carried.

On motion by Sam Pearce, seconded by Mark Borrel, to appoint Gaston Rabalais to the Avoyelles Water District Board for a term of one year. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by Mark Borrel, to award the Bordelonville Library Branch project to Southern Craftsman Construction for \$298,000.00. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by Jacob Coco, approve Asbestos Abatement for the Bordelonville Library. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Earnest Anderson, to adopt a Resolution authorizing the Secretary/Treasurer to forward letters of support to the City of Marksville and Bayou Pierite Drainage Task Force. On vote the motion carried.

On motion by Sam Pearce, seconded by McKinley Keller, to adopt a Resolution accepting Carbon Plant Road Bridge as complete. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Earnest Anderson, authorizing the Secretary/Treasurer to forward a letter to Mr. Brent Scallan thanking him for reconstructing brick walls in the Parking Lot of the Courthouse. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by McKinley Keller, seconded by Earnest Anderson to host a Public Hearing on Tuesday, March 12, 2024, at 4:45 p.m. to hear any objection to naming the Community Room at the Bunkie Library to the Keller Earles Community Room. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Jacob Coco, to adopt a Resolution to participate in the Rubert Ward FEMA Buy Out Program with stipulations that money to purchase be advanced by depositing funds in the Police Jury account by FEMA. The Police Jury authorizes the President to signs all documents related to the buyout once stipulations are met. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Jacob, seconded by Mark Borrel to withdraw the FEMA Safehouse Project. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Mark Borrel, to table Item 25, pending further information. On vote the motion to table carried.

On motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Allen Thomas to appoint Woody Gremillion to the Road District No. 2 Board. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Travis Franks, to reject entering a Cooperative Endeavor Agreement for Bay Sec Landing. On vote the motion carried.

COMMENTS:

Mr. Todd Laborde-KAPB 97.7 Would like to receive notices of meetings. Secretary/Treasurer to email Police Jury Meeting Schedule.

AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY

REGULAR SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La Monday, February 12, 2024

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Allen Thomas, to adopt a motion granting the Secretary/Treasurer to pay all bills and waive a reading of the whole. On vote, the motion carried.

There being no further business, on motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Allen Thomas, the meeting adjourned at 5:39 p.m.

s/ Darrell Wiley President s/Jamey M. Wiley Secretary-Treasurer