## AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY

REGULAR SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La Monday, January 8, 2024

The Police Jury of the Parish of Avoyelles, State of Louisiana, met in Regular Session, in the Meeting Room, Courthouse, Marksville, La, on Monday, January 8, 2024, at 5:00 p.m.

There were present: Mark Borrel, Jacob Coco, Darrell Wiley, Clyde Benson, McKinley Keller, Kevin

Bordelon, Assistant District Attorney Jonathan Gaspard, District Attorney Charles Riddle, Travis Franks, Allen Thomas, Sam Pearce Amy Guidry, Jenny Falls, John Gagnard- Pan American Engineers, Jospeh Frank- Director of Homeland Security, Laura Gaspard-Assistant Secretary/Treasurer, Ronald Coco, Walter Rogers, Gloria Moreau, Van Moreau, Glenn Goudeau, Trent Clark, Amy Guidry, Micha White, Tonya Coco, Adam Bordelon, Noah Joffrion, Rhett Desselle, Donna Desoto, and

Clerk of Court- Connie Desselle

Absent: Earnest Anderson

The meeting opened with the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by a prayer led by District Attorney Charles Riddle.

Roll call by Secretary-Treasurer.

Jurors were sworn in by Assistant District Attorney, Jonathan Gaspard.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by McKinley Keller, to open nominations for Vice-President. On vote, the motion carried. Juror Franks nominated Jacob Coco for Vice-President.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Sam Pearce, to close the floor for Vice-President nominations.

Jacob Coco was declared Vice-President.

On motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Travis Franks, to open nominations for President. On vote, the motion carried. Juror Coco nominated Darrell Wiley for President.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Sam Pearce, to close nominations for President. On vote, the motion carried.

Darrell Wiley was declared President.

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Allen Thomas, to enter executive. On vote, the motion carried.

The board reconvened at 5:10 p.m.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by Sam Pearce, to immediately dismiss Stacy Auzenne, as counsel of record for civil suit "Goudeau v. APPJ" further, authorizing District Attorney Charles Riddle to represent APPJ in this matter. On vote:

Yea	Travis Franks, Mark Borrel, Jacob Coco, McKinley Keller, Sam Pearce, and Allen Thomas
Nay	
Absent	Earnest Anderson
Abstain	Clyde Benson

The motion carried.

## AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY

REGULAR SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La Monday, January 8, 2024

## **DELEGATES**:

- A. Sheriff David Dauzat- Spoke briefly about finalizing a Mass Gathering Ordinance
- B. Francis Keller- Discussed an event he hosted last year. He also congratulated and welcomed new Jurors
- C. Glenn Goudeau-Read a letter to the Jury regarding Home Rule Charter
- D. Justin Dufour- Spoke to the Jury about upcoming renewal of a Cooperative Endeavor Agreement
- E. Perry Scioneaux- Bay Sec Landing

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Jacob Coco, to reappoint the Secretary/Treasurer for a term of two years. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by McKinley Keller, to appoint Marcell Gaillard to the Avoyelles Water District No. 1 for a term of one year. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by Jacob Coco, to appoint Clay Roblin to the Road District No 2 board for a term of one year. On vote, the motion carried.

With unanimous consent, and no objection from the audience, on motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by Clyde Benson, to add Item F to the agenda.

On motion by Allen Thomas, seconded by Clyde Benson, to appoint Trent Clark to the Avoyelles Water District No. 1. for a term of one year. On vote the motion carried.

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Allen Thomas, granting authority to the Secretary-Treasurer to pay all bills and waive a reading of the whole. On vote, the motion carried.

There being no further business, on motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Allen Thomas, the meeting adjourned at 5:50 p.m.

s/ Darrell Wiley
President
s/Jamey M. Wiley
Secretary-Treasurer

PUBLISH: January 19, 2024