AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY SPECIAL SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La THURSDAY, JANUARY 18, 2024

The Police Jury of the Parish of Avoyelles, State of Louisiana, met in Regular Session, in the Meeting Room, Courthouse, Marksville, La, on Thursday, January 18, 2024, at 5:00 p.m.

There were present: Mark Borrel, Jacob Coco, Darrell Wiley, Earnest Anderson, Clyde Benson, McKinley Keller, Assistant District Attorney Jonathan Gaspard, Travis Franks, Allen Thomas, Sam Pearce, Tookie Pearce, Jenny Falls, Laura Gaspard-Assistant Secretary/Treasurer, Jay Callegari, Jesse Lachney, Glenn Goudeau, Gloria Moreau and Dan Moreau

Absent: None

The meeting opened with prayer led by President Wiley, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance

Roll call by Secretary-Treasurer.

On motion by Mark Borrel, seconded by Sam Pearce to enter Executive session. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Jacob Coco, seconded by Allen Thomas to convene to Regular session at 5:21 p.m. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Jacob Coco, to add Glenn Goudeau and Jay Callegari to the agenda to speak. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by Mark Borrel, to accept a Settlement Agreement, with changes, specifying that that APPJ will provide fiscal and administrative support comparable and similar to that provided to the existing commissions, including but not limited to legal counsel provided by the Avoyelles District Attorney's Office, Docket No. 2023-1077, Division B, 12th Judicial District Court, Glenn Goudeau v. Avoyelles Parish Police Jury. All parties agree within 30 days of execution of Consent Judgement to appoint a Home Rule Charter Commission of eleven (11) people, as follows:

State Representative, Daryl Deshotel (at large), Jay Callegari (at large), District 1. Karen Wiley, District 2. Clint Daigrepont, District 3. Jesse Lachney, District 4. Daryl Sampson, District 5. Chris Augustine, District 7. Blake Tassin, District 8. Brock Descant, District 9. Wayne Coco. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by Sam Pearce to dismiss all claims and demands made against Gloria Moreau, individually and in her former capacity as Registrar of Voters, with prejudice at the Avoyelles Parish Police Juries cost, including attorney fees in the amount of \$3,219.00. On vote, the motion carried.

On motion by Travis Franks, seconded by Mark Borrel, to appoint Coty Bordelon to the Planning Commission for a term of four (4) years, replacing Rayford Laborde. On vote, the motion carried.

There being no further business, on motion by Clyde Benson, seconded by Allen Thomas, the meeting adjourned.

s/ Darrell Wiley President s/Jamey M. Wiley Secretary-Treasurer

PUBLISH: January 26, 2024

AVOYELLES PARISH POLICE JURY SPECIAL SESSION, held in the meeting Room in the Courthouse, Marksville, La THURSDAY, JANUARY 18, 2024